Arrested Development

Hip Hop Universe - Arrested Development band

Arrested Development is an American hip hop group that formed in Atlanta in 1988. It was founded by Speech and his ex-best friend Headliner as a positive, Afrocentric alternative to the gangsta rap popular in the early 1990s. Arrested Development was formed in 1988 by rap vocalist Todd Thomas ("Speech") and turntablist Timothy Barnwell ("Headliner"). The group's debut album, 3 Years, 5 Months & 2 Days in the Life Of..., was the number-one album in the Village Voice's 1992 Pazz and Jop Critic's Poll and in The Wire's 1992 Critic's choice. The group won two Grammy Awards in 1993 for Best New Artist and Best Rap Performance by a Duo or Group, and were also named Band of the Year by Rolling Stone magazine.

A few months later, the group was approached by film director Spike Lee, to compose a song for his upcoming biopic based on the life of Malcolm X. The group then recorded "Revolution", which appeared on the oldies-dominated soundtrack for the film, as well as the second half of its closing credits when the film was released in 1992.

Their 1994 follow-up Zingalamaduni, wasn't as successful and sold poorly. After the group broke up due to "creative differences" in 1996, Speech released a solo album; sales were poor in the United States but better in Japan. The group reunited in 2000 and has been touring and releasing records via Speech's Vagabond Productions and Speech Music. While Arrested Development has struggled to regain a following in the United States, they have met consistent success in Japan. Aerle Taree didn't return to Arrested Development because of vocal problems and DJ Headliner refused to rejoin the band due to business differences between himself and Speech. Today Aerle is a poet and she's converted from Buddhism to Christianity. DJ Headliner has since gone on to start his own business called Creative Royalty Group.


3 Years, 5 Months & 2 Days in the Life Of... 1992
Unplugged 1993
Zingalamaduni 1994
Da Feelin' EP 2000
Heroes of the Harvest 2002
Extended Revolution 2003
Among The Trees 2004
Since The Last Time 2006
Strong 2010
Standing At The Crossroads 2012
Changing The Narrative 2016
This Was Never Home 2016